Did you know your browser is out of date?

To get the best possible experience using our website we recommmend that you upgrade to a newer version or other web browser. IE8 is no longer supported. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below. Click on the links to get to the download page.

Who we are

Who we are

Ara Taiohi is the peak body for youth development in New Zealand.

We are a membership-based organisation with over 750 personal and organisational members representing a diverse range of groups such as alternative education providers, youth mental health services, councils, youth justice early intervention, youth workers and youth work organisations, careers organisations, youth one stop shops, research agencies, youth development networks and collectives, district health boards, addiction services, training providers, transition services and more.

Our organisation is governed by a Board of Trustees elected by our members at our annual general meeting with the exception of Te Kaihautū who is appointed by Ngā Kaihoe (Māori Caucus). The Board is advised and supported by our Kaumātua (who is is an adviser to the board, not a board member) and by the Ara Taiohi Caucuses

Anya Satyanand, Trina King, Shannan Wong, Wendy Osmond, Kirsten Le Harivel, Jane Zintl, Jack Trolove and Dayna Carter make up the Ara Taiohi team.

Read more about us:

Our kaupapa and principles