Did you know your browser is out of date?

To get the best possible experience using our website we recommmend that you upgrade to a newer version or other web browser. IE8 is no longer supported. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below. Click on the links to get to the download page.

Korowai Tupu Rōpū

Our vision is to see a world that recognises the expertise of youth workers in supportive environments that builds positive youth development of young people.

The Rōpū sits in a steering capacity to the work of Korowai Tupu and its sub-committees and in an advisory capacity to the Ara Taiohi Board  It has come from the existing Pathway to Professionalisation of Youth Work Working Group (P2P), which led the development of Korowai Tupu.   The group’s purpose is to promote and build the professional status and expertise of paid and volunteer youth workers.

The current Rōpū group members are: Simon Mareko (chair), John Harrington, Stewart Irwin Lisa Hann, Rod Baxter and Penny Prescott

From left to right:

Simon Mareko - is a Youth Worker at Evolve Wellington Youth Service and a Board Member of Ara Taiohi

John Harrington - is the National Coordinator of Scope

Stew Irwin - is the Corps Leader for the Salvation Army Petone

Lisa Hann - is a Workplace Advisor for Careerforce and a supervisor

Rod Baxter - Rod Baxter started in youth work at the turn of the millennium. For 16 years he worked with the team at BGI in Wellington until the end of last year when he joined New Zealand Red Cross. Rod’s new role is National Youth Development Advisor and it’s all about involving young people in Red Cross: disaster response and recovery, refugee resettlement and community resilience. Rod’s a passionate and committed member of Ara Taiohi and appreciates the connections with fellow youth workers across Aotearoa and the world!

Penny Prescott - is the Manager of the Canterbury Youth Workers Collective and a member of the Membership Committee

The Korowai Tupu Rōpū acknowledges that many people contributed to the work of the P2P and professionalisation efforts that came before.  Some of those people include Stephen Bell, Jane Zintl, Dave Green, Rebecca Blaikie, Briarly Birch, Grace Taylor and Aniva Lawrence who all contributed to the P2P working group over its 6 years.

Key Documents

Code of Ethics





Youth Development Strategy Aotearoa





Stepping Stone





A brief history of youth work in Aotearoa


P2P Phase 1 Report

P2P Youth Work Workforce Research Report


Supervision Scrapbook





Real work, a report from the national research project on the state of youth work in Aotearoa





Youth work today: A review of the issues and challenges





The Impact of Youth Work for Young People, A Systemic Review for the Health Research Council and MYD