Did you know your browser is out of date?

To get the best possible experience using our website we recommmend that you upgrade to a newer version or other web browser. IE8 is no longer supported. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below. Click on the links to get to the download page.

Membership Committee

The membership process will be administered by the Development Manager and the Membership Committee.  Their vision is to develop and administer an inclusive fair and efficient membership procedure.

The Membership Committee is made up of dedicated founding members who want to ensure an inclusive, fair and efficient membership process for Korowai Tupu.

Members of the committee are: Nikki Hurst, Ursula Thynne, Morgan Butler, Natalie Elia, Steph Brooks, Viv Homewood, Kate Eggleton, Amanda Murray, Andy Pilbrow, Joanah Phillips, Lorna Gray, Natalie Sargent, Graham Jones and Emma Peek. Our Kaiārahi (cultural support) are: Matt Renata, Charmaine Tuhaka,Whetu Campbell, Stacey Tito, Carolyn Taueki-Stott and Dougal Stott.

They are all supported by Jane Zintl, Development Manager of Korowai Tupu.

From left to right:

Nikki Hurst - I'm a proud Counties Manukau girl who has just spent the last 5 years as a lecturer in counselling, youth development and addiction studies in Wellington and Auckland. I'm passionate about equity in participation for tamariki and taiohi. In my practice I've worked mostly in a one-on-one therapeutic space in both agencies and schools. A particular area of interest is in working with gifted young people in order for them to access all that they need.I completed my bits of paper a few years ago via Massey: MA Counselling (First Class), PG Dip Education (Guidance & Counselling), BA in History

Ursula Thynne - I have been working with young Deaf people people since 2007 in many different roles. teacher of the Deaf at Kelston Deaf Education Centre, youth services Teamleader at Deaf Aotearoa and recently Deaf Services at Geneva Elevator. I am a Vodafone World of Difference alumni member.  

Morgan Butler - Kia ora whānau! Ko Morgan ahau ko Ngati Tuwharetoa, ko Tainui ko Te Rarawa oku iwi. I am so very excited to be a part of this process!

Natalie Elia - Talofa Lava, I am a Senior Youth Development Worker for Youthline Auckland Central. I have worked with young people and families for over 5 years. I believe in the values of Aroha, Manaakitanga, Kotahitanga and Whanaugatanga, which help me maintain an underlying ethos of care and support. I am passionate about uplifiting youth voices and promoting positive youth development. Excited to be a part of a movement that gives Youth Workers the recognition that they deserve! 

Steph Brook - Hi, my journey in youth development started with my local church and my own children. I served in our local church for seven years, then spent three years working part time with at risk young people in a youth mentoring programme and serving in two other churches while studying for my youth development degree at Weltec in Auckland. I currently am a children's and youth pastor at the Anglican church Papakura and I volunteer at another youth group in Red Hill, Papakura. My children are now 21 & 24 and one of them thought it was a great idea to make me a grandma this year. I am stoked to be a part of the Membership Committee and love to be a part of the wider youth development field. I am really passionate about growing great leaders, walking with young people and their families and supporting those involved in youth development across all our diverse fields. 

Viv Homewood - My name is Viv and I have lived in Christchurch ever since I moved from Zimbabwe in 2002. I have wanted to work with young people, since I was about 15 years old when I had a counsellor whom had a profound impact on me. I have been in the youth sector for the past 8 years now, and have had a variety of voluntary and paid positions in a number of sectors ranging from residential youth work, community support, family violence, youth education and I currently work with young people whose lives are affected by cancer. I love building positive relationships with young people, walking alongside them in their journey’s, and in particular identifying and growing their strengths. I also have a passion to learn, and have a BA (Double Major in Education and Psychology), PG Dip Arts (Psychology) and am currently working towards my MA (Education).

Kate Eggleton - My name is Kate Eggleton, I was born and raised in the sunny (and rather beautiful) Whakatane.  Before heading off to windy Wellington to study and now am based in the mighty Waikato in Hamilton also known as the Tron! I have volunteered for a variety of organisations over the years including; Youthline as Youth development group facilitator, BGI as a mentor for the Challenge of Change mentor and St John Youth where I was one of two International Team Managers for the International competitions held in Hong Kong at the beginning of 2016, as well as a being an activity youth leader for several years.  However now I am the current Humanitarian Youth Coordinator for Waikato/ Bay of Plenty for New Zealand Red Cross and love my job and the people I work with!  I am honoured to be a part of the Membership Committee and see value in collaboration and celebration! 

Amanda Murray, Southern Area Manager - Youthtown

Andy Pilbrow, Chief Executive - Birthright HB Child & Family Care

Joanah Phillips, Team Leader - Te Puna Manaaki Student Support Services - Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki

Lorna Gray, Director of Youth Services - Eastern Southern Youth Trust

Natalie Sargent, Education and Youth Development Coordinator - Youthline Wellington

Graham Jones, Youth Worker - EVOLVE Wellington Youth Service 

Emma Peek, Partnership Community Worker - Linwood Ave Community Corner Trust


Matt Renata, Coordinator - ‎Te Awakairangi Youth Development Network and Trustee - Wellington Regional Youth Workers Trust

Charmaine Tuhaka, Social Worker - Tamatea Medical Centre and Trustee - Wellington Regional Youth Workers Trust

Whetu Campbell, Youth Engagement Manager - ‎VIBE Youth Health Service

Stacey Tito, Youth Worker - Directions Youth Health Centre

Carolyn Taueki-Stott

Dougal Stott

Read more about the Membership Procedure that the Membership Committee will be developing and administering